VSP Global and the American Optometric Foundation Announce the 2014 Practice Excellence Scholarship Recipients

Students in the U.S., Puerto Rico and Canada key to the future of optometry

2014 Practice Excellence Scholarship Recipients

Rancho Cordova, Calif., November 13, 2014 - VSP Global® and the American Optometric Foundation (AOF), an affiliate of the American Academy of Optometry (AAO), today announced the 44 recipients of this year’s Practice Excellence Scholarships. $166,000 will be distributed amongst top-performing fourth-year optometry students in the U.S., Puerto Rico, and Canada.

The scholarships are funded through the VSP Global Eyes of Hope® Global Charitable Fund in collaboration with FYidoctors in Canada and administered through the AOF. Two students from each school or college of optometry were selected by nomination of their individual institutions to receive the scholarship.

“VSP is excited to team up with the American Optometric Foundation and FYidoctors to help the future leaders of optometry,” said Cheryl Johnson, senior vice president of Eyecare Delivery Solutions at VSP® Vision Care. “As a key component to fulfilling our mission to help people see, VSP remains committed to the advancement of optometry, investing more than $1 million dollars in scholarship support to hundreds of optometry students over the last ten years.”

Kathy Dumbleton, PHD, MCOptom, FAAO, president of the American Optometric Foundation, stated, “The collaboration with VSP and the schools and colleges of optometry is critical in advancing optometric education to help the next generation of optometry continue providing access to eye care and meeting the needs and choices of consumers. This year there is a travel grant included so that the scholarship recipients can attend the Academy 2014 Denver meeting and participate in premier primary eye care educational sessions, develop lasting relationships, and receive their scholarship award during a reception in their honor.”

Some of the key criteria for selecting the scholarship recipients included the student’s commitment to enter the independent practice of optometry, clinical performance, and academic performance.

The 2014 Practice Excellence Scholarship recipients are:

University of Montreal, School of Optometry (UMSO)

Zoé Lacroix and Diane Sayah

University of Waterloo, School of Optometry and Vision Science (UWSOVS)

Ashala Mah and Diana Trieu

Illinois College of Optometry (ICO)

Ashley Finch and Michael Russell

Indiana University School of Optometry (IUSO)

Cassie Baker and Stuart Boyd Young

Inter American University of Puerto Rico, School of Optometry (IAUPRSO)

Griselda Benavides and Jared J. Scaramuzzi

Michigan College of Optometry (MCO)

Samantha Fordyce and Megan Szarkowski

Midwestern University Arizona College of Optometry (AZCOPT)

Clare Cunningham and Elizabeth Hanohano-Hong

New England College of Optometry (NECO)

Emma Chu and Joseph Kane

Northeastern State University of Oklahoma, College of Optometry (NSUOCO)

Erica Ngo and Thien Nguyen

NOVA Southeastern University College of Optometry (NOVA)

Anna-Kaye Logan and Lita Wu

Ohio State University College of Optometry (OSUCO)

Cari Gallagher and Andrew Steele

Pacific University College of Optometry (PUCO)

Alexandra Bavasi and Nathan Lebsock

Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University (PCO)

Derek Donald Kramer and Kelsey Moody

Rosenberg School of Optometry University of the Incarnate Word (RSO )

Joseph J. Allen and Laura K. Schroeder

Southern California College of Optometry at Marshal B. Ketchum University (SCCO)

Steven Kleen and Christopher Loe

Southern College of Optometry (SCO)

Andrew Brown and Lisa Muiller

State University of New York College of Optometry (SUNY)

Christine E. Corrente and Elsa C. Sheerer

University of Alabama at Birmingham (UABSO)

Brittany Eidam McNeely and Catherine Elna Stokes

University of California, Berkeley, School of Optometry (UCB)

Laura Leis and Kevin Tam

University of Houston, College of Optometry (UHCO)

Stephanie Lechlitner and Crystin Webb

University of Missouri-St. Louis, College of Optometry (UMSL)

Kelly Ann Durst and Jenna Osseck

Western University of Health Sciences College of Optometry (WUCO)

Ashley Suplee and Samantha Zaczyk

Academy 2014 Denver takes place November 12 through 15, 2014, in Denver, Colorado, at the Colorado Convention Center. The VSP Global AOF Practice Excellence Scholarship reception will take place today, November 13, 2014, from 4:00 p.m. to 5:45 p.m.

# # #

About VSP Global

VSP Global® unites industry-leading businesses to bring the highest quality eye care and eyewear products and services to help people see across the globe. VSP Global businesses include not-for-profit VSP® Vision Care, the largest vision care company with more than 72 million members and a network of 30,000 eye doctors in the U.S., Australia, United Kingdom, Canada and Ireland; Marchon® Eyewear Inc., one of the three largest global manufacturers, designers and distributors of quality fashion and technologically advanced eyewear and sunwear; Eyefinity®, the largest EHR and premier practice management software company for the eye care industry; VSP Optics Group, industry leaders in new lens technologies, production processes, service and logistics; and VSP Retail, delivering a memorable consumer experience through a variety of channels that meet the diverse needs of VSP customers. VSP Global businesses operate in 100 countries on 6 continents.


About the American Optometric Foundation

The American Optometric Foundation (AOF) is a philanthropic organization that develops and provides financial support for optometric research and education in vision and eye health to improve patient clinical care. The AOF provides grants and fellowships to students and researchers with the support of a wide variety of individuals and corporate partners. The AOF recognizes and honors achievements which further the visual welfare of humanity, while fostering inter-professional and intra-professional relations with organizations and groups that share common goals. The AOF is proud to be an affiliate of the American Academy of Optometry.


About FYiDoctors

FYidoctors is a private, optometry-owned, eye care company with its home office located in Calgary, Alberta and a fully automated, freeform laboratory and distribution facility located in Burnaby, British Columbia and Quebec, QC. FYidoctors is currently one of Canada’s largest providers of ophthalmic products and services with over 450 optometrists servicing over 280 locations between its corporately owned locations and Vision Source Canada locations. FYidoctors also has Canadian distribution rights to multiple optical and vision products. To learn more please visit www.fyidoctors.com.





Jace Duval